Tuesday, December 15, 2009

My Rotten Life

Lubar, David. 2009. My Rotten Life. (Nathan Abercrombie, Accidental Zombie, Book 1) Read by Matt Brown and Kathleen McInerny. Macmillan Audio.

About 3.5 hours.
An audio excerpt is available on the Macmillan website.

My Rotten Life is the first book in the Nathan Abercrombie, Accidental Zombie series.  When Abigail's uncle's science experiment goes awry, Nathan begins to lose the ability to do things he has always taken for granted - feeling, breathing, and eating to name a few!  But the possibility of life without these abilities offers some interesting possibilities too!  While Abigail rushes to concoct a cure, Nathan and his goofy pal, Mookie, try to come to terms with his new "zombie" lifestyle.

Have a reader who is too old for Captain Underpants? (are we ever too old?) Looking for a new series to tickle the funny bone?  Nathan Abercrombie may be what you're looking for. For ages 8-12.

Fans of this quick-reading chapter book may also enjoy David Lubar's, Punished , Herbert's Wormhole by Peter Nelson, or Cyberia by Chris Lynch.  There is a book for every reader - if only we can find it!

No comments:

Post a Comment

Beneath the Waves - a review

As we read disturbing news accounts of dying manatees , environmental disasters caused by toxic waste, and ocean pollution on the scale of ...